Follow by Email

Sunday, July 13, 2008

Satire or Offensive ?....Drop The New Yorker And The Cartoonist A Line...

All I can say is

Here is the New Yorker's email address: themail@newyorker.com

Here’s the cartoonist’s email: barry@barryblitt.com


Barack Obama had no response to the over of the July 21st issue of The New Yorker Magazine, seen below, except to shrug incredulously and tell reporters, “I have no response to that.”

The cartoon features Barack and Michelle Obama celebrating with a fist bump in the Oval Office in front of a portrait of Osama bin Laden and an American flag burning in the fireplace. Mrs. Obama is portrayed as a militant radical, while Obama appears foreign. The image reflects, some might say mocks, the rumors that have plagued the couple over the last 18 months.




While the candidate declined comment, his campaign did not. “The New Yorker may think, as one of their staff explained to us, that their cover is a satirical lampoon of the caricature Senator Obama’s right wing critics have tried to create. But most readers will see it as tasteless and offensive. And we agree,” spokesman Bill Burton said in a statement.


Artist Barry Blitt
"I think the idea that the Obamas are branded as unpatriotic [let alone as terrorists] in certain sectors is preposterous. It seemed to me that depicting the concept would show it as the fear-mongering ridiculousness that it is."



Blott's Previous Covers:

2008-07-14-newyorker.jpg

The email address for The New Yorker.

themail@newyorker.com

Here’s the cartoonist’s email

barry@barryblitt.com

ADVERTISING CONTACTS

Drew Schutte
Vice President & Publishing Director

David Miller
Associate Publisher

For small-space advertising inquiries, please send an e-mail to smallads@newyorker.com, or call 877-843-6967.

For general advertising inquiries, please contact:

Terese Cunningham
Advertising Director
Telephone: 212-286-2105
E-mail: terese_cunningham@newyorker.com

Maria Tenaglia
Advertising Director
Telephone: 212-286-6993
E-mail: maria_tenaglia@newyorker.com

For other advertising inquiries, please contact your local sales representative:

Cookman Campbell
Chicago Manager
Telephone: 312-649-3506
E-mail: cookman_campbell@newyorker.com

Patti Chapman
Detroit Manager
Telephone: 248-458-7955
E-mail: patti_chapman@newyorker.com

Melissa Smith
Los Angeles Manager
Telephone: 323-965-3466
E-mail: melissa_smith@newyorker.com

Marii Sebahar
San Francisco Manager
Telephone: 415-955-8282
E-mail: marii_sebahar@newyorker.com

For marketing inquiries, please contact:

Daniella Wells
Marketing Services Director
Telephone: 212-286-7479
E-mail: daniella_wells@newyorker.com

No comments: