Follow by Email

Monday, May 05, 2008

Cryor, Dugas Glover Supers endorse Obama

Michael Cryor Michael Cryor State Democratic Party Chairman Michael Cryor and Vice Chairwoman Lauren Dugas Glover, both superdelegates, are endorsing Illinois Senator Barack Obama this afternoon, sources tell

Those close to Cryor have said he has been an Obama supporter for some time, but wished to remain neutral to help broker between dissenting factions within the state party.

After their endorsement, only 10 Maryland Democratic superdelegates will remain undecided. New York Sen. Hillary Clinton will have 11 while Obama will have 8.

Lauren Dugas GloverLauren Dugas Glover Former Gov. Parris Glendening, who was selected as an add-on delegate to the Democratic National Committee Convention on Saturday, endorsed Obama over the weekend. He is also set to attend the endorsement press conference in College Park at 2:30 p.m.

Of the 99 voting members of the Maryland delegation, Obama has 50, Clinton has 39, and 10 remain unknown. A list of the state's superdelegates is below.

Sen. Barbara Mikulski
Gov. Martin O'Malley
Former Lt. Gov. Kathleen Kennedy Townsend
Rep. Dutch Ruppersberger
Alvaro Cifuentes
Maria Cordone
Nancy Kopp
Glenard Middleton
Richard Michalski
Michael Steed
Carol Pensky

Former Gov. Parris Glendening
Rep. Elijah Cummings
Rep. Donna Edwards (assuming she wins the June 17 special election)
State Chair Michael Cryor
State Vice Chair Lauren Dugas Glover
Janice Griffin
Mary Jo Neville
Karren Pope-Onwukwe

Rep. Steny Hoyer
Rep. Chris Van Hollen
Sen. Ben Cardin
Rep. John Sarbanes
John Gage (President of American Federation of Government Employees)
Belkis Leong-Hong (Former high-ranking DOD employee, now principal of an IT firm)
Heather Mizeur (State Delegate, rumored to be a Clinton supporter by the National Stonewall Alliance, though Mizeur later denied it)
Gregory Pecoraro (Westminster Councilman)
John Sweeney (President of the AFL-CIO)
Susan Turnbull (National Vice Chair of the DNC)

No comments: